Solar Plexus Chakra: Here’s Everything You Need to Know About Your Third Chakra

Our emotions reside physically in our bodies. On a subtle level, our bodies communicate with the energies around us and certain energetic impulses usually relate directly to a certain part of the body and chakra that’s weakened or imbalanced.

Each chakra represents a spiritual life lesson or challenge to help us gain a more in-depth understanding of our personal and spiritual power. This, in turn, helps us learn how to overcome obstacles, let go of emotional blockages, and walk the path towards spiritual consciousness.

The Manipura, or Solar Plexus Chakra, is our epicenter and the magnetic core of our personality and our ego.

This article explains your Third Chakra, the Solar Plexus Chakra, in-depth by exploring its emotional and mental connection to the physical world.

The energy of the Third Chakra, often referred to as the Solar Plexus or Manipura, is the formation of the independent self – independent from our community and independent from external relationships. It’s a personality separate from any inherited characteristics.

However, if the first and second chakras are out of balance, then the Manipura develops issues related to fragile personal power and low self-esteem.

To recap: the Root Chakra resonates with familial power, and the sacral resonates with the flowing power between others and the self. The Third Chakra relates to our independence and personal power within the external world.

Want to learn more about all seven chakras? Read: An Introduction to All 7 Chakras

Here Are the Main Characteristics of the Solar Plexus Chakra:

The Manipura, or Solar Plexus Chakra, is our epicenter and the magnetic core of our personality and our ego. It relates to the energy of the sun and is our very own personal, fiery furnace.

The Solar Plexus Chakra is the Connection to Self

The Solar Plexus Chakra mediates between the first two primary external chakras and the internal reflection of consciousness. The First Chakra always resonates with the group force and has an external center of gravity. The Second Chakra focuses on relationships and their external effect on us.

The Third Chakra’s gravitational pull begins to shift, with only a partial focus on external forces around us, and internalizes this information to better understand the Self.

This chakra is all about honoring yourself, taking care of yourself, and forming an intuitive voice from within “the Self,” which then becomes our natural source of guidance.

The Solar Plexus Chakra Is Self-Acceptance

Self-acceptance and how we feel about ourselves determines our quality of life, how we are treated in relationships, in business, and beyond.

The Manipura relates to personal growth and activating that independent strength. This is usually our most challenging spiritual endeavor that we will face during our life journey – essentially learning to truly and fully love ourselves.

What the Third Chakra Teaches Us

If we do not like or love ourselves, we are unable to make healthy decisions or find the willpower to move forward fearlessly. This makes us vulnerable to control and manipulation by others.

People with weak Manipuras have low self-esteem and therefore attract relationships and occupational environments that reinforce or reflect this weakness.

The challenge of the Solar Plexus Chakra is to have the willpower to make positive choices that enhance your life.

The Third Chakra wills you to have courage and conviction in your sense of internal power within the external world. This limits the authority of external forces that could cloud or control your personal idea of how you envision your life.

It is necessary to become empty to create space in order to be made full again, allowing old patterns to expire in order to be reborn and create a stronger sense of self.

Imbalances of the Solar Plexus will leave a person feeling drained and depleted of their vitality, which can lead to depression, fearfulness, and insecurity.

Yet have no fear! It is never too late to churn this energy into positive confidence and joyful power. The beauty of the Manipura is that it draws in the power of the sun and stokes our inner emotional flame as well as our digestive fuel.

Signs of Imbalance in the Solar Plexus Chakra

Individuals who suffer from an imbalanced Manipura struggle with digestive issues because of stagnant negative energy residing in the stomach. These individuals even crave sugars like chocolate as a substitute for love because the Manipura directs its energy to the pancreas which is the organ that balances blood sugar levels.

Illnesses that originate from this chakra are manifested by low self-esteem, lack of self-importance, fear of rejection, sensitivity to criticism and inability to stand up for what we believe in.

These physical illnesses that come from dis-ease of the Solar Plexus involve stomach issues like acid reflux, intestinal problems like IBS, and pain in the middle spine.

We are often riddled with internal conflicts, fears, and secrets that we are not quite ready to face. These emotions churn in the stomach as the Solar Plexus spins, which can frequently cause nausea or a heavy feeling in the pit of the stomach.

Therefore, we need to meet these feelings head on and digest the information so we can then expel the negative waste down to the root chakra to recycle.

Here’s How to Heal Your Solar Plexus Chakra

Practice yoga Sun Salutations and trust your gut intuition. Eat foods that balance your digestive fire. Know that doing things for yourself does not make you selfish, so ask yourself – what makes YOU happy? (Now go and do it!!)

Yoga poses for the Solar Plexus Chakra: Cow Pose, Seated Spinal Twist, Camel Pose
Crystals to Balance the Solar Plexus Chakra: Topaz, Tiger-eye, and Yellow Tourmaline
Aromatherapy to Activate the Solar Plexus Chakra: Clary Sage, Juniper, and Geranium

In tantric tradition, the Solar Plexus is said to be the ‘place of gems’ and described to ‘shine like a pearl.’ Therefore, it is crucial that we remember this on our hero’s journey.

We are all brilliant and beautiful in our own unique way and realizing this, we can become like sunflowers reaching for the sun – we rediscover and grasp our true, full joy.

Take the Chakra Awakening Online Yoga Program

Practice a yoga class to balance and align each of your seven chakras on YA Classes by YouAligned!

Yoga Program
With Carrie Varela

Watch the Chakra Awakening preview video here!

This article has been read 50K+ times. Hot damn!


wonderful comments!

Chakra 101: An Introduction to the 7 Chakras
There are 7 chakras total: each is represented by a specific color, shape, name and location in the body. Learn about the chakra system here.
Read »

Katie Ness

Katie Ness is an Ayurvedic Yoga teacher, Reiki teacher, Women’s Circle facilitator, belly dancer and artist from the UK. As a traveling yogini, she has visited over 20 countries. She spends her free time illustrating in her nature journal, writing poetry, and reading. Katie is currently studying herbalism and botanical illustration.

shop background image
Explore our premium on-demand classes
with world-class instructors.

Psst. Every class you take helps plant a food-producing tree.

See the classes
Mind, body & life wellness in your inbox.


Send this to a friend
Follow us on Close

Create Your FREE Account

Woohoo! You’re about to unlock unlimited articles, exclusive
community content, and select on-demand yoga and fitness classes.


Lost password?