We use cookies to provide and improve our services. By using our site, you consent to cookies.

Cookie Image

Do You Know Your Ruling Planet? Learn About the “Boss” of Your Zodiac Sign

Do you know what your ruling planet is? I can bet you know your sun sign, and you might even know the element associated with your sign. But did you know that zodiac signs are also ruled by planets?

The funny thing about astrology is that our zodiac signs correspond to constellations of stars. But the planets in our solar system are much closer than the constellations of our zodiac signs, and therefore, have a massive influence over us.

Did that just blow your mind?

The ruling planets of each zodiac sign are the bosses. They represent foundational characteristics about each of us, how we interact with ourselves and others, and can even pinpoint what we might excel at in our careers.

The universe has long been a source of mystery and meaning, so let’s demystify the influence of the planets and what they mean for each sign.

These Are the Ruling Planets Associated With the Zodiac Signs:

If you are as smart as a fifth grader, you know that we have eight planets in our solar system. Some zodiac signs are ruled by the same planet, like Taurus and Libra for example. But only two zodiac signs are ruled by luminares: the sun and moon.

Aries (March 21 – April 19)

Aries is ruled by Mars. Mars is the God of War and the planet of action and courage. Aries have a determination and drive that is backed by fire and courage, making you the first to take on a challenge and lead others to victory.


Taurus (April 20 – May 20)

Taurus is ruled by Venus. Venus is the planet of love and money, and for a Taurus those are #1 and #2 on the list of desires to feel stable and inspired. Taurus is a lover of all things pleasurable, soft, luscious, luxurious, and expensive. That’s all Venus talking.

Gemini (May 21 – June 20)

Gemini is ruled by Mercury. Mercury is the planet of communication and Gemini loves to talk and share thoughts, ideas, mysteries, and philosophy. Mercury also rules consciousness, nonverbal communication, and technology.

Want to blend astrology and yoga? Read this: The Best Type of Yoga For You Based On Your Zodiac Sign

Cancer (June 21 – July 22)

Cancer is ruled by the moon. The moon is representative of our emotions, the feminine, water, the darkness that lives within us all (dark side of the moon), and of the phases we all naturally go through. Cancers are natural-born feelers who are incredibly in touch with their emotions, which can be very intense at times.

Leo (July 23 – August 22)

Leo is ruled by the sun. The sun is the center of our galaxy, and Leo loves to be the brilliant and shining center of attention. The sun rules our will, ego, and self-expression, and Leo is a master of all three. With a heavy focus on the self, Leo is the most self-involved sign, but also a selfless giver and passionate lover.

Virgo (August 23 – September 22)

Virgo is ruled by Mercury. While Mercury also rules Gemini, it has a same-same-but-different expression in this earth sign. Virgo is the problem solver, scheduler, logical, and most responsible sign in the zodiac. Mercury is very productive in the sign of Virgo, and the ease of communication is expressed in a very linear way full of reason.

Mercury Retrograde got you down? These 15 Mercury Retrograde Memes Are Hilariously Relatable

Libra (September 23 – October 22)

Libra is ruled by Venus. Again, we have another planet share happening here with a completely different expression from Taurus (also ruled by Venus). Libra is an air sign and is deeply committed to balance and partnership. The sensuality of Venus is expressed by Libra through partnership, design, lasting friendships, and charisma.

Scorpio (October 23 – November 21)

Scorpio is ruled by Pluto. Pluto represents deep transformation, and has long been associated with the underworld, the subconscious, death, and the afterlife. Scorpio has no fear of emotional depth or the darkness that lives within. In fact, they are most comfortable in these places that others rarely venture to or even acknowledge.

We all have a shadow side. Learn how to integrate it with the light: Embrace Your Shadow Side! These Are the Shadow Energies Associated With Your Sun Sign

Sagittarius (November 22 – December 21)

Sagittarius is ruled by Jupiter. Jupiter is the archetype of expansion and growth, making Sagittarius lovers of travel, adventure, personal-development, and spontaneity. Luck and good fortune are also associated with Jupiter, and Sagittarius has an infectious positive energy.

Capricorn (December 22 – January 19)

Capricorn is ruled by Saturn. Saturn is the planet of responsibility, hard work, determination, and discipline. While this may not sound like the most exciting collection of adjectives and traits, Capricorn knows how to work hard and play hard. The integrity and lack of illusion in Capricorn is the fingerprint of Saturn.


Aquarius (January 20 – February 18)

Aquarius is ruled by Uranus. Uranus is the rebel, the revolutionary, and the planet of originality, innovation, and expanded consciousness. Aquarius has an urge to live against the grain, speak up, get involved in activism, and be a revolutionary thought leader.

Pisces (February 19 – March 20)

Pisces is ruled by Neptune. Neptune is the planet of psychic awareness and the God of the Seas. The watery, psychic, mystic, and magical soul of Pisces is the oldest in the zodiac and representative of dreams, imagination, spirituality, and wonderment. Reality is not so appealing to Pisces as idealism takes the lead.

How to Embody the Energy of All the Zodiac Signs

Throughout the year, the sun moves into each of the 12 zodiac signs, providing an opportunity to embody the characteristics of that sign, even if you weren’t born under it.

At this time, we are full of energy, life, new vitality, and a fire that lay dormant all winter. The collective will feels fueled by this and we’ll all be courageous and fearless in our thoughts and actions. Cool, right?

Put the Ruling Planets in Motion in Your Life!

It’s important to remember that we have free will and while we say “ruling planets” this does not mean that we are unable to make changes or adjustments in how we live our lives and what we integrate from the planets associated with our zodiac signs.

This is merely a guide to make sense of some innate aspects of our lives (and our loved ones, coworkers, friends, and neighbors) and to remember that we are not separate from the universe.

As above, so below.

This article has been read 100K+ times. Wowzers!


wonderful comments!

Embrace Your Shadow Side! These Are the Shadow Energies Associated With Your Sun Sign
Your sun sign represents your identity and how you shine your light. But you also have shadow signs that correspond. Find out how to embrace them here!
Read »

Morgan Garza

Morgan is a modern mystic in every sense of the word. As a published author of the book Soul Magic, she lives by the ancient wisdom she teaches about in her book and in workshops around the world. In addition to being an author and teacher, Morgan is also an entrepreneur and community leader. Her mission is to empower you to become your own guru.

Mind, body & life wellness in your inbox.

Get the
YA Classes App

No WiFi? No Problem! Download
classes and take them without an
internet connection.

Download YA Classes app on the Apple App Store
Download YA Classes app on the Google Play Store

Also available in Apple TV , Mac and Amazon apps.

Send this to a friend
Follow us on Close

Create Your FREE Account

Woohoo! You’re about to unlock unlimited articles, exclusive
community content, and select on-demand yoga and fitness classes.


Lost password?